Gun laws in North and South Dakota regulate the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition in the state of Dakota in the United States. It gives rights as well as regulatory rules.
Concealed Carry in North Dakota
The North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) shall issue a concealed weapon permit to a qualified applicant. The applicant must pass a written exam and apply to the local law enforcement agency. The agency conducts a local background check before forwarding the application to the BCI.
The permit is valid for five years. A concealed weapon permit is required while transporting a loaded firearm in a vehicle. Concealed carry is not allowed in the part of an establishment that is set aside for the retail sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages.
Concealed carry is allowed in the restaurant part of a liquor establishment if an individual under 21 years of age is not prohibited in that part of the establishment. Concealed carry is not allowed, unless permitted by local law, at a school, church, sporting event, or public building. Under the state’s Constitutional Carry law, may a person carry a loaded gun in a vehicle.
Since August 1, 2017, people carrying concealed weapons without a concealed weapons license will need to carry a form of state-issued photo ID. He must be a North Dakota resident for at least 1 year and must inform police about their handgun upon contact. They must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by law.
Gun laws in South Dakota
Permitless carry is legal as of July 1, 2019. The local county sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a concealed pistol to qualified applicants. A temporary permit shall be issued within 5 days of the application. Concealed carry is not permitted at any public elementary or secondary school or in a school vehicle, in any courthouse, or in any establishment that derives over half of its income from the sale of alcoholic beverages which are ingested on site.
For non-residents, South Dakota recognizes valid concealed carry permits from any other state. Open carry is legal in South Dakota and does not require a concealed pistol permit.
Conditions for eligibility
- Must be at least 18 years of age.
- Must be 21 to purchase a handgun, but may possess at 18 in North Dakota provided the individual is legally able to possess a firearm under the law.
- Must be a resident of North Dakota for 30 days as evidenced by ND drivers license or ND ID card or have a concealed weapon license/permit issued by a state that has reciprocity with North Dakota.
- Not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.
Examples of prohibitions from possession of a firearm
- Felony conviction
- A conviction for a misdemeanour crime of domestic violence (disorderly conduct)
- Misdemeanour conviction involving violence with the use of a weapon
- A user of drugs or addicted to drugs
- Dishonourable discharge from the military
- Renounced US citizenship/Illegal alien
- A protection order against you
- Fugitive from justice
- Right to possess a firearm removed by the courts
- Right to possess a firearm removed by a mental health or treatment issue
ND drivers license or ND ID card must be carried (or the individual must have a digital image of the license).
The individual must inform law enforcement that they have the firearm upon any in-person contact by a law enforcement officer. Restrictions on places that a firearm may be possessed or carried by law still apply.
Steps to obtain the license
There are four steps to obtain a North Dakota Concealed Weapon License or renewing an existing license-
1)Make sure you are eligible( fulfilling the above-mentioned conditions)
2)Complete the online application and print it
3)Take the required testing
4)Mail the application form along with the $60 non-refundable fee and all the required documents. It takes up to 60 days to process the application and issue the license.
You must carry your concealed weapon license with you and be able to show it upon request from a law enforcement official. When you receive your ND license, take a photo of it on your phone so that you can show the officer a digital version of your license if you don’t have the actual license with you.
Subscribe to Email Updates :